My Ultimate and Usable Web Development IDE


During the past two years I have been using different IDEs for PHP Development. I used Dreamweaver, Eclipse PDT, PHP Designer and NetBeans IDE but lately I faced some problems when I do some extensive JavaScript coding. This took me to re-enumerate the IDEs for me.

In short I concluded that NetBeans IDE for PHP fulfilled most of my needs.

What I Found Great

  • Usability and easiness of use
  • Extensive Code assistance not only for PHP but also for CSS and JavaScript
  • Easy adding and removing of plugins
  • Very lighter than Eclipse
  • Many of good features of Eclipse are here (like Local History )
  • Built in support for JQuery and other JavaScript Libraries
  • Its free!!!!
I am a web developer working @ Gaditek

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Programming & Development
13 comments on “My Ultimate and Usable Web Development IDE
  1. Trackback says:

    Public Post…

    Su Articulo: [1897323] ha sido indexado
    RSS Search Engine.
    From Colombia…

  2. Andrew says:

    Have you checked out Aptana Studio?

  3. Stuart says:

    I really like this IDE as well. I’ve tried just about all of the others. Aptana being built off of Eclipse it is very “Eclipsy” and I find Netbeans to be superior to the various Eclipse based projects.

  4. Jasper says:

    I don’t really see the need in having an IDE for PHP and stuff. I totally get it if you’re writing Java or something as it’s got all the compilers built in for ease, but it’s easy to just use a text editor (TextMate) and a local setup for stuff like that.

    As with so many computer related things, though, it’s down to personal preference and what suits one won’t even be close to suiting another!

  5. kiran says:

    I use php Netbeans 6.5. I like it very much. Only thing annoys me its delay in showing intellisense for methods and variables. Its very slow compared to Eclipse and zend studio.
    I like features such as in built support for subversion.

  6. jpluijmers says:

    @jasper:

    If you start programming php in large enterprise applications you will want the following functionality from your IDE:

    – Code Assist (class indexing)
    – Remote debugging (Xdebug)
    – Code outlining
    – Integrated version control

    Just to point a few verry important ones out.

    @ontopic:

    I don’t use netbeans because its too lightweight for me. Altough they say they have all the functionality listed above its just verry basic. For example I miss alot of advanced functions when configuring debugging.

    Netbeans is a nice starter package but when you advance you will require a more robust/advanced IDE like eclipse pdt.

  7. Ming says:

    if you try Aptana Studio , you will kick out Eclipse PDT and NetBeans, i also try so much free or trial version php IDE
    Aptana is best ,because it great support on javascript and php code assist,
    Netbeans 6.5 is second choice ,the BIG problem is Netbeans code-assist is useless,
    Netbeans only allow assign ONE hotkey (Default is CTRL+ backSlash) to show the code-assist,
    AND the code-assist’s help window is too detail for me, it so all things from php.net.compare with Aptana , Netbeans is not good in support javascript code-assist

  8. I love Netbeans like crazy too but it absolutely *kills* me that they don’t basic IDE stuff like smart tab deleting and word wrap … and like Kiran said the intellisense is so slow that its almost useless.
    Come on Sun!
    This is elementary stuff for any IDE.

  9. sandeep says:

    i couldnot connect the application program with the html code web

  10. It is nice … will try to use …

  11. Hey!

    Have you tried Codelobster PHP Edition, I fulfills my requirements. If you are working on different frameworks, different applications It is perfect, It supports: Drupal CMS, Joomla CMS, WordPress Blogging Platform, Symfony framework, CakePHP framework CodeIgniter framework FaceBook Social Network, Yii framework, Smarty Template Engine & jQuery library
    Found at: http://www.codelobster.com/

    I have also used NetBeans, Its too heavy CodeLobster comes with 15Mb setup only with full php and JS intellisens.
    NetBeans and Visual Php are not bad as well.

    Waqar Alamgir,
    Software Engineer @ Creative Chaos Pvt Ltd.

  12. Howdy terrific blog! Does running a blog such as this take a lot of work?
    I have very little expertise in programming but I was hoping to
    start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any
    suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic however I simply wanted
    to ask. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

